this is an outdated text: switch to the updated & improved dc code website
home, about

The DC Code: § 1-303.05 Additional penalties for violation of regulations.

Index1 Government Organization. (Refs & Annos)

The Council of the District of Columbia is hereby authorized to prescribe reasonable penalties of a fine not to exceed $300 or imprisonment not to exceed 10 days, in lieu of or in addition to any fine, or to prescribe civil fines or other civil sanctions for the violation of any building regulation promulgated under authority of § 1-303.04, and any regulation promulgated under authority of § 1-303.01, and any regulation promulgated under authority of § 1-303.03.

Historical and Statutory

Prior Codifications 1981 Ed., § 1-316. 1973 Ed., § 1-224a. Legislative History of Laws For legislative history of D.C. Law 6-42, see Historical and Statutory Notes following § 1-303.01. Law 10-68, the "Technical Amendments Act of 1993," was introduced in Council and assigned Bill No. 10-166, which was referred to the Committee of the Whole. The Bill was adopted on first and second readings on June 29, 1993, and July 13, 1993, respectively. Signed by the Mayor on August 23, 1993, it was assigned Act No. 10-107 and transmitted to both Houses of Congress for its review. D.C. Law 10-68 became effective on February 5, 1994. Change in Government This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(2) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section. DC CODE § 1-303.05 Current through December 11, 2012


(Dec. 17, 1942, 56 Stat. 1056, ch. 762, § 7; Oct. 5, 1985, D.C. Law 6-42, § 446, 32 DCR 4450; Feb. 5, 1994, D.C. Law 10-68, § 5, 40 DCR 6311.)