this is an outdated text: switch to the updated & improved dc code website
home, about

The DC Code: § 11-101 Judicial power.

Index11 Organization and Jurisdiction of the Courts. (Refs & Annos)

The judicial power in the District of Columbia is vested in the following courts:

The following Federal Courts established pursuant to article III of the Constitution:
The Supreme Court of the United States.
The United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.
The United States District Court for the District of Columbia.
The following District of Columbia courts established pursuant to article I of the Constitution:
The District of Columbia Court of Appeals.
The Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

Historical and Statutory

Prior Codifications 1981 Ed., § 11-101. 1973 Ed., § 11-101. Miscellaneous Notes Section 23(a) of D.C. Law 15-354 provides that Title 11 is designated Title 11 of the District of Columbia Official Code. DC CODE § 11-101 Current through December 11, 2012


(July 29, 1970, 84 Stat. 475, Pub. L. 91-358, title I, § 111.)