this is an outdated text: switch to the updated & improved dc code website
home, about

The DC Code: § 3-801 Created; composition; duties; Chairman; meetings.

Index3 District of Columbia Boards and Commissions. (Refs & Annos)
The Council on Law Enforcement in the District of Columbia (referred to in this section as the "Council") is hereby created.
The Council shall be composed of the following members:
The Mayor of the District of Columbia;
The Chief of Police;
The Chief of the United States Park Police;
The United States Attorney;
The Corporation Counsel;
A United States Magistrate for the District;
The Director of the Department of Corrections;
The Parole Executive of the Board of Parole of the District;
The United States Marshal for the District;
One person appointed by the Chief Judge of the District Court;
One person appointed by the Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia;
One person appointed by the Bar Association of the District of Columbia;
One person appointed by the Washington Bar Association; and
One person appointed by the Washington Criminal Justice Association.
The Council shall make a continuing study and appraisal of crime and law enforcement in the District, and shall make a report to the Senate and the House of Representatives at the beginning of each regular session of Congress.
The Council shall select a Chairman from among its members. The Council shall meet at regular intervals at least 4 times annually, at times to be fixed by the Chairman. A special meeting may be held at any time upon the call of the Chairman. The 1st meeting of the Council shall be called by the Mayor of the District of Columbia, who shall preside until a Chairman is selected.

Historical and Statutory

Prior Codifications 1981 Ed., § 2-1001. 1973 Ed., § 2-1901. References in Text The Act of October 17, 1968, Pub. L. 90-578, terminated the office of United States Commissioner and established in place thereof the office of United States Magistrate, referred to in subsection (b)(6) of this section. The Act became operative in the District on June 27, 1969, when 2 United States Magistrates assumed office pursuant to appointment by order of the District Court, dated June 20, 1969. Change in Government This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 401 of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to a single Commissioner. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section. DC CODE § 3-801 Current through December 11, 2012


(June 29, 1953, 67 Stat. 101, ch. 159, § 401; July 8, 1963, 77 Stat. 77, Pub. L. 88-60, § 1; July 29, 1970, 84 Stat. 570, Pub. L. 91-358, title I, § 155(a), 157(f).)