this is an outdated text: switch to the updated & improved dc code website
home, about

The DC Code: § 6-1202 Restrictions on alteration of buildings.

Index6 Housing and Building Restrictions and Regulations. (Refs & Annos)

In order to promote the general welfare and to preserve and protect the places and areas of historic interest, exterior architectural features, and examples of the type of architecture used in the National Capital in its initial years, the Mayor of the District of Columbia, before issuing any permit for the construction, alteration, reconstruction, or razing of any building within said Georgetown district described in § 6-1201, shall refer the plans to the National Commission of Fine Arts for a report as to the exterior architectural features, height, appearance, color, and texture of the materials of exterior construction which is subject to public view from a public highway. The National Commission of Fine Arts shall report promptly to said Mayor of the District of Columbia its recommendations, including such changes, if any, as in the judgment of the Commission are necessary and desirable to preserve the historic value of said Georgetown district. The said Mayor shall take such actions as in his judgment are right and proper in the circumstances; provided, that, if the said Commission of Fine Arts fails to submit a report on such plans within 45 days, its approval thereof shall be assumed and a permit may be issued.

Historical and Statutory

Prior Codifications 1981 Ed., § 5-1102. 1973 Ed., § 5-802. Change in Government This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 401 of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to a single Commissioner. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 (D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act (D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section. Delegation of Authority Delegation of Authority Under the "Shipstead-Luce Act", see Mayor's Order 89- 92, May 9, 1989. DC CODE § 6-1202 Current through December 11, 2012


(Sept. 22, 1950, 64 Stat. 904, ch. 984, § 2.)