this is an outdated text: switch to the updated & improved dc code website
home, about

The DC Code: § 7-2271.02 Establishment of District of Columbia Homeland Security Commission; membership.

Index7 Human Health Care and Safety. (Refs & Annos)
There is established a District of Columbia Homeland Security Commission, which shall consist of 7 persons with expertise in security, transportation, communication, chemical safety, risk assessment, terrorism (including bioterrorism), or occupational safety and health.
(1) Commission members shall be nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council for terms of 3 years, in accordance with § 1-523.01(e).
The Mayor shall establish through rulemaking that Commission members shall be subject to pre-nomination inquiries and security-clearance requirements.
The terms of the members first appointed shall begin on the date a majority of the first members are sworn in, which shall become the anniversary date for all subsequent appointments.
Commission member's terms shall be staggered so that either 4 positions or 3 positions will expire on the year's anniversary date.
Members shall receive no salary for their service on the Commission but shall be reimbursed for administrative costs associated with membership.
The Agency shall provide staff to the Commission.

Historical and Statutory

Legislative History of Laws For Law 16-262, see notes following § 7-2271.01. DC CODE § 7-2271.02 Current through December 11, 2012


(Mar. 14, 2007, D.C. Law 16-262, § 202, 54 DCR 794.)